New Mayor and Deputy Mayor Elected; New Councilmembers Sworn In

Release Date: January 08, 2020


January 8, 2020

SAMMAMISH, WA - At the first City Council Meeting of the year on Tuesday, January 7, the Sammamish City Council elected Karen Moran (Position 3) as Mayor. Moran had performed the role of Deputy Mayor since April 2018, and she has served as a Councilmember since January 2018. The Council votes on the position of Mayor every two years.

The City Council also named Christie Malchow (Position 2) as Deputy Mayor. The election of the Deputy Mayor occurs annually. Malchow had served as Mayor of Sammamish since 2018, and she has been a member of the City Council since 2016. Deputy Mayor Malchow recently won reelection for her Council seat and was administered the oath of office by the City Clerk at Tuesday night's meeting, along with newly elected Councilmembers Kent Treen (Position 4) and Ken Gamblin (Position 6). They have each been elected to serve four-year terms as Councilmembers. 

(Image: Mayor Karen Moran)